Reciprocal Inuit/graduate student research training in the Canadian Arctic

The spring 2017 workshop series aimed to contribute to research capacity in Arctic communities by encouraging Indigenous-Western research awareness and cross-cultural dialogue.

The workshops were a collaboration between the University of Alberta Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine, the Health Sciences Education and Research Commons, Library Services, and the Aqqiummavik Society in Nunavut, and had the participation of the Law Society of Nunavut.

The workshops were held in Arviat and Iqaluit, Nunavut, and video-linked to the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine at the University of Alberta in Edmonton. They involved graduate students, undergraduate students, Arctic-based Inuit research assistants, Nunavut high school students and students at the Arctic College.

In addition to contributing to general research capacity in Nunavut, the workshops trained research assistants to participate in a large, two-year interdisciplinary project relating to rehabilitation for justice-involved young Inuit men in Canada’s Arctic. The research project is funded by The Law Foundation of Ontario and the Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Ferrazzi, P., Christie, P., Jalovcic, D., Tagalik, S., & Grogan, A.  (2018). Reciprocal Inuit and Western research training: facilitating research capacity and community agency in Arctic research partnerships. International Journal of Circumpolar Health, 77(1), 1425581. DOI: 10.1080/22423982.2018.1425581. Available at

This cross-cultural research training workshop series and related film were supported by a University of Alberta Indigenous Community Engagement, Research and Learning Grant sponsored by FGSR and the Provost.

Iqaluit Training - Manual Cover

Ferrazzi, P., Jalovcic, D.  & Tagalik, S. (2017). Reciprocal Inuit/Graduate Student Research Training in the Canadian Arctic. Iqaluit Workshop Series. Edmonton, Alberta: University of Alberta.

University of Alberta